Parent Cabinet

Our Teacher Cabinet is part of a larger effort to elevate teacher voice in policymaking conversations. Its members serve as a sounding board for the Mayor’s Office, the NPEF, and other city, philanthropic and private-sector leaders. The cabinet is composed of teachers with diverse teaching experiences, including those at the elementary, middle and high school levels, as well as teachers from zoned, magnet and charter schools.

Our Parent Cabinet is a diverse group of MNPS parents who provide feedback to the Mayor’s Office and the NPEF on various education initiatives and strategies. The 24-member cabinet represents a diverse mix of grade levels and types of school experiences. Its members live in different neighborhoods across the county and bring varying perspectives to the discussion.

Members of the inaugural Parent Cabinet and neighborhoods represented include:

  • Alene Arnold, Green Hills
  • Ladan Awil, Hermitage
  • Lynnette Brown, South Nashville
  • Krista Carruthers, Edgehill
  • Dan Clemmons, Bellshire Estates
  • Nancy Denning-Martin, Inglewood
  • Sheila Dorse, Skyline Village
  • Cynthia Eckles, Southeast Nashville
  • Kelley Eguakun, North Nashville
  • Juan Escarfuller, Priest Lake
  • Rashed Fakhruddin, Green Hills
  • Caryn Hill, Hermitage
  • Debra Kornprobst, Goodlettsville
  • Robert Layman, Cane Ridge
  • Matthew Morgan, East Nashville
  • Bob Obrohta, Southeast Nashville
  • Demi Owen, Antioch
  • Indie Pereira, Donelson
  • LaShanda Porter, Antioch
  • DeMica Robinson, Brentwood
  • Anita Ryan, Bellevue
  • Sandra Turpen, Hermitage
  • Rachel Tompkins, Bellevue
  • LaShante Walker, West End