Community Leaders Rallying Around Public Schools

adminPress Releases

Some of the city’s top civic leaders are joining hands to rally behind a renewed effort to strengthen and improve Nashville’s public schools. A broad cross-section of community leaders, including Mayor Megan Barry and new Director of Schools Dr. Shawn Joseph, are coming together to host the 12th annual Nashville Public Education Foundation (NPEF) Public Schools Hall of Fame on Monday, Oct. 17, at the Omni Nashville Hotel.

“We have an extraordinary opportunity before us with new leadership and a renewed community commitment to strengthen and improve our public schools,” Mayor Barry said. “This is a moment the entire city needs to lock hands and do what needs to be done. I’m honored to be part of such a stellar group of city leaders committed to making our schools the absolute best they can be.”

“It is inspiring to come into this new role knowing there are many dedicated people in our community who want to see our public schools not only succeed, but excel,” Dr. Joseph said. “I am honored to now be a part of this community, and I am looking forward to seeing the city come together in such a big way on Oct. 17.”

The event is chaired by Gail and David Williams. Mayor Barry and Dr. Joseph are honorary co-chairs of the event. Other host committee members include business executives, civic leaders, elected officials and public school alumni.

“Gail and I are honored to chair this year’s Hall of Fame,” said David Williams, vice chancellor for Athletics and University Affairs at Vanderbilt University and event chairman. “The Nashville Public Education Foundation has accomplished a great deal since last year’s Hall of Fame through Project RESET and our role in the director of schools search. They continue to bring the community together behind the common goal of public school excellence. The money raised at this event will enable them to build on those successes and help take the city and the school system forward at an accelerated pace.”


Host committee members include:

  • Leslee T. Alexander
  • Mayor Megan Barry
  • Sheila and James Bearden
  • Sacha and Charles Robert Bone
  • JoAnn Brannon
  • Vice Mayor David Briley
  • Barbara and Gregory Burns
  • Daphne and Rawls Butler
  • Sheila D. J. Calloway
  • Trudy and Bill Carpenter
  • Pamela and Michael Carter
  • Cathy and Mark Cate
  • Andrea Conte and Gov. Phil Bredesen
  • Ashley and Joe Cook
  • Brenda and Ron Corbin
  • Dr. Judy Cummings
  • Anne Davis and Karl Dean
  • Jana and Ansel Davis
  • Suann and Ralph Davis
  • Donna and Chuck Denny
  • Heather and Todd Dickson
  • H. “Sonnye” Dixon
  • Margaret and Steve Dolan
  • Shani and Randy Dowell
  • Annette Eskind
  • Donna and Jeffrey Eskind
  • Rashed Fakhruddin
  • Judy and Bob Fisher
  • Ben Folds
  • Beth Fortune
  • Gloria and Darrell Freeman
  • Mary Carol and Charles Friddell
  • Jennifer and Billy Frist
  • and Mrs. William H. Frist
  • Amy Frogge
  • Howard Gentry
  • Sharon Gentry
  • Linda and Steve Geringer
  • Glenda Glover
  • José González
  • Margaret and Tony Heard
  • Jennifer Ayer Hill
  • Carrie and Damon Hininger
  • Laura and John Hollingsworth
  • Tyese and Roy Hunter
  • Lee Ann and Orrin Ingram
  • Marion and Decosta Jenkins
  • Shawn Joseph
  • Tracy and Jeremy Kane
  • Beverly Keel
  • Elissa Kim
  • Marcia and Lewis Lavine
  • Sandra and Larry Lipman
  • Rhonda and Randy Lowry
  • Wanda and Jerry Lyle
  • Kristin McGraner
  • Caroline and Rob McNeilly
  • Debbie Miller and Bill Purcell
  • Janet M. Miller
  • Dana Elizabeth Moore
  • Juli and Ralph Mosley
  • LaVoe Mulgrew
  • Mary and Mark Pierce
  • Will Pinkston
  • Rich Riebeling
  • Jeanne and Mark Rowan
  • Samantha Saturn and Steve Kravitz
  • Tara Scarlett and Michael Peacock
  • Anna Shepherd
  • Dana and Tom Sherrard
  • Holly and Clint Smith
  • Jill Speering
  • Frances and Jimmy Spradley
  • Byron Trauger
  • Judy and Steve Turner
  • Katy Varney and Dave Goetz
  • Rachel and Marcus Whitney
  • Gail and David Williams
  • Jerry and Ernie Williams
  • Alecia and Victor Wynn
  • Brenda and Emmett Wynn
  • Nicholas S. Zeppos

Earlier this summer, it was announced that GRAMMY Award-winning artist Vince Gill would perform. NewsChannel 5 anchor Vicki Yates will serve as master of ceremonies.

Sponsors of this year’s event include BlueCross BlueShield of Tennessee Community Trust, Cat Financial, CCA, Crosslin & Associates, P.C., Dollar General Corporation, Education Networks of America, First Tennessee Bank, HCA/TriStar Health, H.G. Hill Realty Company, Ingram Industries Inc., KraftCPAs PLLC, Lightning 100, Lipman Brothers and the R.S. Lipman Company, Lipscomb University, Nashville Lifestyles, Nissan North America, Inc., Rogers Group, Inc., Ryman Hospitality Properties Foundation, SunTrust, UBS, Vanderbilt University, and Waller Lansden Dortch & Davis, LLP.

For tickets or sponsorship opportunities, call 615-727-1515 or visit

NPEF launched its Hall of Fame in 2005. The event raises funds to support public schools and the Foundation’s work to strengthen and improve them. In total, 50 Nashvillians have been inducted into the Public Schools Hall of Fame. This year, in addition to inducting distinguished alumni and the newest recipient of the Nelson C. Andrews Distinguished Service Award, a new award is being launched – the Inspiring Innovation Award. The recipient of that award will receive a $10,000 grant to scale up a promising innovation.