Community leaders turn out in full force to support public schools

adminPress Releases

Mayor Megan Barry, Director of Schools Dr. Shawn Joseph and other community leaders are coming together to host the Nashville Public Education Foundation’s (NPEF) 13th annual Public Schools Hall of Fame on Wednesday, Oct. 4, at 11 a.m. at the Omni Nashville Hotel. The members of the host committee represent diverse backgrounds and industries, but share a passion for improving public education in Nashville.

“I’m honored to join this exceptional group of community leaders uniting the city around our public schools,” said Mayor Barry. “The NPEF’s Public Schools Hall of Fame is a great opportunity to recognize those who are truly making a difference in public education and to galvanize support for this work in the future.”

The Hall of Fame event is co-chaired by Wanda and Jerry Lyle, joined by honorary co-chairs Mayor Barry and Dr. Joseph. Wanda Lyle, general manager of Nashville’s UBS Business Solutions Center, serves as vice chairwoman of the NPEF’s board of directors, and Jerry Lyle is retired from Indoff Inc. of St. Louis. Community volunteer Caroline and Rob McNeilly, president and CEO of SunTrust Bank and an NPEF board member, are the table host chairs for the event. Other host committee members include business executives, civic leaders, elected officials, educators, faith leaders, philanthropists, sports figures and other stalwarts of the community.

“As we accelerate improvement efforts, it is critical for the city to come together in an unprecedented way to support our public schools,” said Dr. Joseph. “I’m happy to be joining Mayor Barry and this esteemed group of community leaders to host this important event.”


Host committee members include:

  • Sheila & James Bearden
  • Jeff Bradford
  • JoAnn Brannon
  • Phil Bredesen
  • Vice Mayor David Briley
  • Barbara & Gregory Burns
  • Daphne & Rawls Butler
  • Pamela & Michael Carter
  • Krystal Clark
  • Ashley & Joe Cook
  • Martha & Jim Cooper
  • Brenda & Ron Corbin
  • Maggie & Tim Corbin
  • Dr. Judy Cummings
  • Jana & Ansel Davis
  • Suann & Ralph Davis
  • Anne Davis & Karl Dean
  • Donna & Chuck Denny
  • H. “Sonnye” Dixon
  • Margaret & Steve Dolan
  • Shani & Randy Dowell
  • Tara & Bryce Drew
  • Annette Eskind
  • Donna & Jeffrey Eskind
  • Molly Boyd & Chris Ferrell
  • Judy & Bob Fisher
  • Christina & Dana Ford
  • Mignon Francois
  • Ashley & Ben Freeland
  • Gloria & Darrell Freeman
  • Jennifer & Billy Frist
  • Julie & Tommy Frist
  • Senator & Mrs. William H. Frist
  • Howard Gentry
  • Sharon Gentry
  • Tamara & Eddie George
  • Glenda Glover
  • Katy Varney & Dave Goetz
  • Max R. Goldberg
  • Jose D. Gonzalez
  • Jamie & Jimmy Granbery
  • Margaret & Tony Heard
  • Carrie & Damon Hininger
  • Dan Hogan
  • Laura & John Hollingsworth
  • Karen & Sam Howard
  • Tyese Hunter
  • Lee Ann & Orrin Ingram
  • Marion & Decosta Jenkins
  • Denice & R. Milton Johnson
  • Tracy & Jeremy Kane
  • Beverly Keel
  • Attorney & Mrs. Edward T. Kindall
  • Marcia & Lewis Lavine
  • Candice & Sean Lee
  • Sandra & Larry Lipman
  • Rhonda & Randy Lowry
  • Debby Dale Mason
  • LeighAnne & Derek Mason
  • Mary Roskilly & Chuck Miller
  • Rita P. Mitchell
  • Dana Elizabeth Moore
  • Laura Moore
  • Juli & Ralph Mosley
  • LaVoe Mulgrew
  • Anna Page
  • Tara Scarlett & Michael Peacock
  • Mary & Mark Pierce
  • Debbie Miller & Bill Purcell
  • Richard Riebeling
  • Sharon K. Roberson
  • Anna Shepherd
  • Tom & Dana Sherrard
  • Stephanie & Tracy Silverman
  • Holly & Clint Smith
  • Frances & Jimmy Spradley
  • Sunny & Butch Spyridon
  • Brenda & Joe N. Steakley
  • James R. Threalkill
  • Byron Trauger
  • Abby Trotter
  • Judy & Steve Turner
  • Christina & Tom Ward
  • Michelle Fletcher & Stephanie White
  • Rachel & Marcus Whitney
  • Gail & David Williams
  • Jerry & Ernie Williams
  • Jamie & Bill Woodson
  • Renata Soto & Pete Wooten
  • Allison & D.J. Wootson
  • Pam & Tom Wylly
  • Brenda & Emmett Wynn
  • Alecia & Victor Wynn
  • Nicholas S. Zeppos

“Jerry and I are honored to chair this year’s Hall of Fame,” said Wanda Lyle. “From the launch of the Literacy Collaborative to the formation of the largest educator discount program in the Southeast through the Show Your Love for Teachers campaign, the NPEF’s work to promote public school excellence continues to ramp up. The funds raised at this event will ensure the organization can continue its work to develop the greatest public school system in the nation here in Nashville.”

The NPEF launched its Hall of Fame in 2005. The event raises funds to support public schools and the Foundation’s work to improve literacy in the district, to recruit and retain great teachers, to turn around underperforming schools, and to increase Nashville’s college-going rate. In total, 59 Nashvillians have been inducted into the Public Schools Hall of Fame. This year, three awards will be presented: the Inspiring Innovation Award, presented by NISSAN, the Nelson C. Andrews Distinguished Service Award, presented by Education Networks of America, and the Distinguished Alumni Award, presented by Ingram Industries.

This year’s honorees will be announced later this month, and finalists for the Inspiring Innovation Award will be publicly unveiled in July.

For tickets or sponsorship opportunities, call 615-727-1515 or visit