Marry Barry, Nashville Public Education Foundation team up to listen to parents

adminPress Releases

Mayor Megan Barry and the Nashville Public Education Foundation are pleased to announce the formation of a Parent Cabinet, a diverse group of MNPS parents who will provide feedback to the Mayor’s Office and the NPEF on various education initiatives and strategies. The group represents various viewpoints and will offer guidance on ways the city can better support and engage parents and their students.

“Behind each student are supportive parents who want the very best for their children, including a great school experience and strong academic success,” Mayor Barry said. “Our Parent Cabinet will provide critical insights that will help us to better understand and support the diverse needs of parents and students.”

More than 100 parents from across Nashville applied to serve in the inaugural citywide Parent Cabinet. The 24-member cabinet represents a diverse mix of grade levels and types of school experiences. They live in different neighborhoods across the county and will bring varying perspectives to the discussion.

“So often, discussions around education policymaking are missing some of the most critical voices – namely, parents and teachers,” said Shannon Hunt, NPEF president and CEO. “We want to make sure parents’ opinions and concerns are at the forefront of education discussions, helping to shape our thinking and drive private-sector and city support for public education. Our hope is that the Parent Cabinet will create a new pathway to achieve that.”

Members of the inaugural Parent Cabinet and neighborhoods represented include:

  • Alene Arnold, Green Hills
  • Ladan Awil, Hermitage
  • Lynnette Brown, South Nashville
  • Krista Carruthers, Edgehill
  • Dan Clemmons, Bellshire Estates
  • Nancy Denning-Martin, Inglewood
  • Sheila Dorse, Skyline Village
  • Cynthia Eckles, Southeast Nashville
  • Kelley Eguakun, North Nashville
  • Juan Escarfuller, Priest Lake
  • Rashed Fakhruddin, Green Hills
  • Caryn Hill, Hermitage
  • Debra Kornprobst, Goodlettsville
  • Robert Layman, Cane Ridge
  • Matthew Morgan, East Nashville
  • Bob Obrohta, North Nashville
  • Demi Owen, Antioch
  • Indie Pereira, Donelson
  • LaShanda Porter, Antioch
  • DeMica Robinson, Brentwood
  • Anita Ryan, Bellevue
  • Sandra Turpen, Hermitage
  • Rachel Tompkins, Bellevue
  • LaShante Walker, West End

Members will serve one-year terms. The cabinet will meet with staff from the NPEF and the Mayor’s Office throughout the year to discuss a range of topics, including ideas for parent engagement, college readiness and success, and pre-K.

Earlier this year, the Mayor’s Office and the NPEF also formed a 22-member Teacher Cabinet.