Mayor Barry and Nashville Public Education Foundation Announce 2017-2018 Citywide Teacher Cabinet

adminPress Releases

The Nashville Public Education Foundation and Mayor Megan Barry announced today the members of the 2017 – 2018 Teacher Cabinet. The Teacher Cabinet, which was formed in 2016, gives Metro Nashville Public Schools’ teachers the opportunity to weigh in on important issues and education initiatives with policymakers at the district, city and state level.

“The success of our public school system depends heavily on really listening intentionally to teachers. They are on the frontlines and often know better than anyone the needs and challenges in our schools,” said Mayor Megan Barry. “That is why I am so excited to announce the next class of Teacher Cabinet members. This impressive group of educators will provide crucial input on decisions that will directly affect them and their peers.”

The members of the Teacher Cabinet represent diverse backgrounds and teaching experiences, including those at the elementary, middle and high school levels, and teachers from zoned, magnet and charter schools.

“Outstanding teachers are the single greatest factor in the drive toward public school excellence, yet often times their voices are missing from major policy discussions,” said Shannon Hunt, NPEF president and CEO. “With the breadth and depth of experience of this year’s Teacher Cabinet, we are confident we have some of the best of the best at the table to help shape and inform policymaking, philanthropic investment and the larger public discourse around public education.”

2017 – 2018 Teacher Cabinet members include:
Sarah Altmann, Murrell School
Beth Baker, HG Hill Middle Prep
Natalie Lurry Boddie, Hunters Lane High School
Jessica Bolus, Meigs Magnet Middle Prep
Chuck Cardona, Nashville School of the Arts
Sequoya Cummings, Rose Park Magnet Middle
Klavish Faraj, Paragon Mills Elementary School
Colin Hunt, Croft Design Center Middle Prep
Eva Boster Kohlmoos, East End Prep
Sara Landing, Apollo Middle Prep
Rebecca Ledebuhr, STEM Preparatory Academy
Douglas Mosher, Whitsitt Elementary School
Hope Oliver, Whites Creek High School
Paula Pendergrass, Granbery Elementary School and Tusculum Elementary School
Chad Prather, Pearl-Cohn Entertainment Magnet High School
Stefanie Rapp, Carter Lawrence Elementary Magnet School
Nikki Rhone, Paragon Mills Elementary School and Bellshire Elementary Design Center
Shauna Russell, Purpose Preparatory Academy
Kristen Sawl, Fall-Hamilton Enhanced Option Elementary School
Martha Shaffer, Maplewood High School
Emily Siami, JT Moore Middle Prep
Brittany Taussig, Inglewood Elementary School
Charity Vinson, Two Rivers Middle Prep
Franklin Willis, Andrew Jackson Elementary School

The cabinet will meet several times each year, with regular conversations and guidance via email. Last year’s inaugural Teacher Cabinet will continue to be engaged as an alumni group with the goal of growing a strong group of teacher leaders who can weigh in and provide front-line educator insights to local leaders working to strengthen and improve Nashville’s public schools.