Nashville Public Education Foundation, Mayor’s Office Team Up to Listen to Teachers

adminPress Releases

NASHVILLE, Tenn. – The Nashville Public Education Foundation and the Mayor’s Office announced today the formation of a Teacher Cabinet, which will serve as a teacher voice in significant conversations with the Mayor’s Office, NPEF, and other city, philanthropic and private-sector leaders.

“Teachers are the backbone of our public school system, which is vital to the success of our city and the children who call it home,” said Mayor Megan Barry. “That is why I asked the Nashville Public Education Foundation to work with me in assembling the Teacher Cabinet to help inform our decisions as a city as they relate to our school system, but also the many other issues that affect students and teachers beyond the classroom walls.”

The cabinet is composed of teachers with diverse teaching experiences, including those at the elementary, middle and high school levels, as well as teachers from zoned, magnet and charter schools. In addition, teachers at various points in their professional careers are represented.

“We want the Foundation’s and city’s efforts to be anchored in authentic feedback, counsel and great ideas from classroom teachers,” said Shannon Hunt, NPEF president and CEO. “All too often, people fail to listen to those working on the front lines of education. The Teacher Cabinet will make sure we have a way to consistently engage with some of our best and brightest educators.”

Initial members of the Teacher Cabinet include:

  • Shannon Alexander, Overton High School
  • Jarred Amato, Maplewood High School
  • Elijah Ammen, Stratford STEM High School
  • Marie Banks, Carter-Lawrence Elementary School
  • Shari Bray, Sylvan Park Elementary School
  • Katie Castellon, Valor Collegiate Academies Middle School
  • Alecia Ford, J.T. Moore Middle School
  • Deborah Gomez, H.G. Hill Middle School
  • Leighton Lancaster, Hillsboro High School
  • Courtney Mauldin, Cane Ridge Elementary School
  • David Myers, J.T. Moore Middle School
  • Jenna Noonan, Glenview Elementary School
  • Danielle Norton, Bordeaux Early Learning Center
  • Leticia Skae-Jackson, Hillsboro High School
  • Elizabeth Smith, Hume-Fogg Academic Magnet
  • Heather Snodgrass, KIPP Academy
  • Alana Teller, East End Preparatory School
  • Christina Theodoru, Intrepid College Preparatory School
  • Kathleen Turnmire, Pearl-Cohn Entertainment Magnet High School
  • Charles Williams, Whites Creek High School
  • Dianne Winstead, Old Center Elementary School
  • Cicely Woodard, Rose Park Magnet Middle School

The cabinet held their first meeting on Thursday, March 10, and the discussion focused on a stronger citywide effort to recruit, retain and support great public school teachers. The cabinet will continue to meet on an ad hoc basis throughout the year serving as a sounding board to NPEF and the Mayor’s Office as each pursues efforts to strengthen and support public schools.

 About the Nashville Public Education Foundation

The Nashville Public Education Foundation is a nonprofit organization committed to pulling together the vast intellectual, creative and financial resources of the Nashville community to create a shared vision of the city’s education system and provide the needed targeted resources to make it a reality. Visit to learn more.